It’s Not This Time of Year Without…

…thinking about my Mum.  It’s my birthday and my daughter’s birthday just a couple of weeks apart.

Every year on my daughter’s birthday I am taken right back to the moments when she entered the world and I feel it all over again.  On my birthday, I know my Mum experiences the same about me.

I will always be her daughter and she’ll always be my Mum but I’m old enough now that there’s no conflict or embarrassment.  Every year that passes, I get to see just a little more of the woman, the amazing woman that she is.

She makes me think of the early winter sun.

A sun that’s wise enough not to bleach the blue out of the sky, happy instead to generously add an extra coating of gold to the amazing blazing landscape that she’s nurtured.

Glorious tilted, slanted light coming almost sideways through the air, tired but still showing me new and wonderful things; quieter, lower on energy but still always challenging me to look at familiar things in a different way.

A sun that shows me that there’s never jewel-like richness without deep cold shadow and that’s nothing to fear.

There’s beauty in light and shadow, we need both in our lives. Sometimes you need to look at the dark negative spaces to fully appreciate the positive things that have been created.

I never go out to specifically take photos, I’m a Mum. I go out to walk the dogs and my daughter. Today Mum, we were in the park and I saw this and thought of you: my fabulous mad Mum who liked to stand outside the supermarket taking photos of lines of stacked trolleys…

Thanks for helping me see clearly. My inspiration, always.

In response to the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: It’s Not This Time of Year Without…

6 thoughts on “It’s Not This Time of Year Without…

  1. Tears wiped away so I can see! Thanks Jill X

    YES always LOOK and SEE what’s there, not what you think is there.

    My other soapbox rant . . . . . . . . . always look and watch what a child is doing before wading in as an adult. Let a child lead the play. It may look like a child is misbehaving BUT is the child experimenting, lacking the honed skills of an adult to try and make sense of things. Let a child make mistakes sometimes it’s the best way to learn.

    Thinking of my Mum and my sister who are no longer around I find that, even more I look and look again to SEE all the great things that are around – because they can’t anymore.

    Linear pattern still fascinates me as you know Jill.
    Ripples left on the sand as the tide goes out. I shall stop.
    Love you X keep SEEING.

    Like

Start a Conversation...

